The Levels of Chimney Inspection

Level 1 Inspection

A Level I Inspection is generally limited to readily accessible areas of the chimney structure, with additional requirements to insure the flue is clear. Readily accessible areas are those areas that can be reached for inspection or maintenance without the use of tools or ladders. A Level I Inspection will include checking the basic appliance installation and connection, checking readily accessible portions of the chimney structure and flue, and determining that the flue is not obstructed.

Level I Inspections are recommended:

  • During annual chimney inspections
  • During routine service of the venting system, including chimney sweeping
  • Upon direct replacement of a connected appliance with one of similar type.
  • At any other time an inspection is warranted, and conditions of use of the venting system are not changing.

Level 2 Inspection

A Level II Inspection generally limited to accessible areas of the chimney structure and appliance installation. Accessible areas are those that can be reached without destructive action to the building or building finish. Access may require the movement or opening of doors and panels, and may require the use of common hand tools or ladders.

A Level II Inspection will include all portions of a Level I Inspection as well as accessible areas of the chimney structure, including areas within accessible attics, basements and crawl spaces. In addition, a Level II Inspection will include an examination of the chimney interior by video scanning or other comparable means of inspection. The inspector should also determine that the flue is properly sized for the connected appliance(s).

Level II Inspections are recommended:

  • Upon addition or removal of one or more connected appliances, or replacement of an appliance with one of dissimilar type, input rating or efficiency.
  • Prior to relining or replacement of flue lining.
  • Upon sale or transfer of the property.
  • After an operating malfunction or external event likely to have caused damage to the chimney.

Level 3 Inspection

A Level III Inspection includes all portions of a Level I and a Level II Inspection as well as examination of non-accessible areas of the chimney structure that are reasonably suspected of containing hazards. Non-accessible areas are those areas that cannot be reached without damage or destruction to the chimney, building or building finish, or areas that would require special tools to reach.

Examination of non-accessible areas should be limited to suspect problem areas. In as much as inspection of these non-accessible areas will likely result in damage to the building the inspector and homeowner should discuss these details beforehand.

Level III Inspections are recommended:

  • Where necessary for the investigation of an incident which has caused damage to the chimney or building.
  • Where a hazard is detected or suspected during a Level I or II Inspection and that cannot be fully evaluated without access to concealed areas.

The Burnie Advantage

  • We are the only N.F.I. certified woodburning fireplace specialist in San Diego county.
  • We advise you on fire safety, proper maintenance and habit of use to help make sure your system serves its function to keep your home warm and safe.
  • As chimney sweep professionals, we also check other components of your home's heating system. We look for visible damage, structural design problems, signs of deterioration and check proper clearances for the appliance and venting system.




    Please let us know if there is a particular date and/or time that works best for you. We will check your request against our schedule and contact you to discuss if the request is open or alternate dates and times if we are unavailable.


    Date requested

    Your zipcode

    What time of day is best?

    Additional details